Why did an “annual prepayment” I made not cover a full year of service?

When you choose “annual prepayment”, we charge you in advance for an amount equal to a year’s standard service, which gives you a prepaid credit balance.

We then deduct the discounted monthly fee from the credit balance each month. When your credit balance reaches zero (in twelve months), we charge you for another year of standard service.

However, if you sign up for new domain names during the year, or if you switch to a different plan with a higher price, or if you incur overage fees for using more resources than your plan includes, your prepaid balance will reach zero more quickly. In that case, another prepayment will be due before a year has passed.

Similarly, if you cancel domain names, downgrade your plan, or receive Referral Rewards, your “annual prepayment” can last for more than 12 months.