Why do I see a $1.00 charge after updating my credit card?

After you update a credit card with us, your credit card company’s online statement may show a $1.00 pending charge for a few days.

The $1.00 fee is an “authorization only” charge to check that the card is valid, and it will not appear on your final credit card statement. Your credit card company should remove it from the list of pending charges within a couple of business days (although we’ve occasionally heard that some take longer).